

Committee for selection of National Volleyball teams formed, prominent names like A.Ramana Rao and Shyam Sunder Rao part of the committee.

New Delhi, 9th May: To make sure the selection of Indian Volleyball U 20 teams for the upcoming

international events of the year 2022 is on time, an independent committee of eminent athletes and Criteria for selection for Women's Team -
Height -
178 CM & Above for Blockers, 175 CM & Above for Attackers and Universals, 170 CM & Above for Setters
Participation -
Should have participated in International /National - Senior/Youth/Junior/Federation Cup/National Games/All India Intervarsity, KIYG / KIUG
Criteria for selection for Men's Team -
Height -
195 CM & Above for Blockers. 188 CM & Above for Attackers and Universals, 186 CM & Above for Setters
Participation -
Should have participated in International/National- Senior/Youth/Junior/Federation Cup/National Games/All India Intervarsity, KIYG / KIUG.



It must be noted that via these selection trials, athletes for Khelo India Scheme and NCOE would also be selected. has been formed the Sports Authority of India, which will be selecting athletes for upcoming National Camps. The selection of the teams will be conducted through an open trial from May 18th onwards.

A total of 12 members are part of the Selection Committee that will select the Indian men's volleyball team and the Indian women's volleyball team. While the selection committee for the men's team will be led by Dronacharya and Arjuna Awardee Shyam Sunder Rao, the selection committee for the women's team will be led by Dronacharya and Arjuna Awardee A.Ramana Rao.

The 12 members that will be are part of the Selection Committee are

For Men's Volleyball Team -

- 1) Shyam Sunder Rao Former India Volleyball player, Dronacharya and Arjuna Awardee Chairman. He was the chief coach of the Junior Indian team that won the first silver medal in Asian and qualified for the world Junior championship.
- 2) S. Dakshinamoorthy Certified FIVB Level- III Volleyball Coach, with coaching experience of over 35 years.
- 3) Dr. M.H Kumara FIVB Level III Coach, Former Chief Coach of Indian Junior (U-21) Men's Team A FIVB World Championship (2003 to 2011)
- 4) Dr. Dalel Singh Former Indian National player, Captain, and Arjuna Awardee
- 5) Pritam Singh Chauhan Former Coach
- 6) Augustine T A Former Coach

For Women's Volleyball Team -



1) A.Ramana Rao - Former Indian volleyball player, Dronacharya and Arjuna Awardee - Chairman		
2) Indian t	P.V Ramana, Arjuna Awardee and former Indian volleyball player. He was a member of the team that won a bronze medal at the 1986 Asian Games.	
3) teams	Dr. Ajay Jangra – FIVB Level II coach and former head coach of various Junior Indian women's	
4) teams. & 2018	Vaishali Phadtare – Former India national player, Former head coach of the Jr National She was also the Assistant coach of the team that represent India at the Asian Games (2014)	
5)	T. Balachandran, Former Coach	
6)	Salomi Ramu, Eminent Player	
Coachir	ection committee will select the final list of the athletes that will be part of the National ng Camp and will represent India at various international events of the year 2022 including coming Asian Games.	
Before starting the team selection process, the designated committee met under the Chairmanship of Shri Sandip Pradhan, Director General, SAI, and decided on the names of the team's head coaches and assistant coaches.		
Senior	Men Team -	
Dakshir	namoorty S - Head Coach	

Chander Singh - Asst Coach



Abhijeet Bhattacharya - Asst. Coach

R Kamaraj - Trainer
Sh. T Augustine - Head Coach, U - 20 Men
PC Pandiyan - Head Coach, U - 18 Men
Senior Women Team
T Balachandran- Head Coach
Vaishali P Asst. Coach
Jewel S.R Asst. Coach
Dr. Ajay Jangra - Head Coach, U- 20 Women
Sunny Joseph - Head Coach, U -18 Women

It was also decided Selection Trials for U-20 men and women would be held from 18.05.2022 to 20.05.2022 and for Men from 22.05.2022 to 25.05.2022, both the trials would take place at SAI's Bangalore Centre.

EOM